Just Breathe by Cammie McGovern.

Title: Just Breathe Author: Cammie McGovern Publisher: Harper Collins Date: 7th January 2020 Pages: 352

● Young Adult ● Contemporary ● Romance ● Mental Health ●

Synopsis:

“From the critically acclaimed author of A Step Toward Falling and Say What You Will comes a new YA standalone about mental health, chronic illness, and two teenagers learning to deal with both while falling for each other, perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart.

David Sheinman is the popular president of his senior class, battling cystic fibrosis.Jamie Turner is a quiet sophomore, struggling with depression.The pair soon realizes that they can be their true selves with each other, and their unlikely friendship develops into something so much more. But neither Jamie nor David can bring themselves to reveal the secrets that weigh most heavily on their hearts—and their time for honesty may be running out.”

Review:

Just breathe is a breath of fresh air (pun intended).

The book deals with some serious issues around genetic disease, mental health and suicide It is written well to explain these issues and how they affect the characters concerned.

The book is written from the point of view of both the main characters, David and Jamie. I sometimes got confused who’s perspective I was reading when there was dialogue between the characters, however, I think that is more my memory than anything as it is labelled when the POV changes.

I enjoyed the development of the friendship and slow burn romance between David and Jamie. I loved that by thinking of each other and helping each other, they were in turn also helping themselves.

Just as they come to realise their feelings and need for each other a turn of events threatens to change things forever. I became completely invested in them being at least friends still by the end of the book, if not more.

I shall now be checking out Cammie McGovern’s other books.

A solid 4/5.

I received this book as an e-arc on edelweiss+, it does not affect my review in any way.

Advertisements

One thought on “Just Breathe by Cammie McGovern.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s